Dorn Majure


Dorn Majure Psy.D.
Montgomery AL
D_Majure@Hotmail.com
Special interests:  Cosmology

AAS:   Are you a seasoned amateur astronomer or just getting into the hobby?

DM:   Have been reading on the subject but otherwise a beginner.

AAS:   What was your first experience that attracted you to astronomy?

DM:    Have been interested since childhood but only recently decided to explore this interest. I can remember camping out in Mobile as a child in the mid '60s.  I would lay on my back and look at the millions of stars which were visible to the naked eye even in the city at that time and be filled with wonder.

AAS:   How about your family members; spouse? kids? significant other?

DM:      I am a psychologist and I'm married to an Art Therapist.  I have an 18 year-old daughter who is a freshman at Auburn University.  My son is 14 years of age an lives in Mobile with his mother.  My wife and I have been married for 5 years and just found that we will be parents again in May of 2000.  I am 45 years old but still am excited about this development.

AAS:   Can you tell us a little about your formal education?

DM:    I have a M.S. and a  Psy.D.  (Doctor of Clinical Psychology)

AAS:   Do you have any pets?

DM:     We have 2 cats.  Angel is a tortoise shell and Snower is solid white.  They're ancestry is as mixed as mine.

AAS:   Where do you work? If you're retired, what was your occupation?

DM:     I work as a clinical psychologist with Behavioral Medicine in Montgomery, AL.  I have been in the Montgomery area only 1 year.

AAS:   What are your other hobbies?

DM:     I enjoy weight lifting and tennis.  I have an Bachelor's degree in Music and enjoy performing in local choral groups and just listening.
 

AAS:   What was your first or favorite car?

DM:    My first car was a '66 Ford Mustang.  That car has remained my favorite.
 

AAS:   What was your first "real" job?

DM:     My first job was at a local hamburger place on the Parkway in Mobile, AL.  My most interesting job so far is my currect position.  I enjoy helping others.

AAS:   Tell us about your favorite vacation.

DM:     A cabin on the beach has always been my favorite vacation and I've enjoyed many such experiences.  A close second is a cabin in the mountains.
 

AAS:   Have you ever lived in some other part of the country or another country?

DM:     Have only lived in Alabama (Huntsville, Decatur, Mobile, Fairhope, and now Montgomery)  However, we kept our Fairhope home and will some day return.

I have developed an increasing interest in Cosmology and have read several of the books available in the public library.  I am particularly interested in the search for extraterrestrial life, origins of the universe and in becoming an amateur astronomer.