Jason Hill


 
 
Jason Hill
Lanett AL
webcrawler(AT)charter.net

Telescopes 
CR4 (Refractor); 
C8N (Reflector); 
CPC11 w/Wedge (SCT); 
Orion Short Tube 80 (Guidescope) 

Special interests:  Deep space; Astrophotography


 


AAS:  Are you a seasoned amateur astronomer or just getting into the hobby? 

JH:  Still somewhat of a beginner.  The lack of free time has not permitted me to be overly dedicated to astronomy for  the last few years, so don’t be surprised if you see me with a planisphere.

AAS:  What was your first experience that attracted you to astronomy? 

JH:  Probably a combination of Carl Sagan’s Cosmos and seeing the rings of Saturn for the first time.

AAS:  Tell us a little about your family members; spouse? kids? siblings? significant other? 

JH:  Married to my wife Crystal since 1999, no children yet.

AAS:  Can you tell us a little about your formal education? 

JH:  Some college when I was younger (Retail Marketing Management, Computer Science), didn’t really have my heart into academics at the time.  However I am now what they call a “mature student”, attempting a Degree in Physics with hopes of one day acquiring a Phd. (maybe in Astrophysics). 

AAS:  Do you have any pets? What kind?  How Many? 

JH:  Miniature Schnauzer named “Dixie Belle”. 

AAS:  Where do you work? If you're retired, what was your occupation?   If you're still in school, have you chosen a career? 

JH:  I’ve been surveying land since 2001, and I am currently working as a survey crew-chief for an Engineering/Surveying company in West Point, GA. 

AAS:  Besides astronomy, what  other hobbies do you enjoy? 

JH:  I don’t know if you would call them hobbies, but I do have interests in photography, painting, reading non-fiction, and just about anything to do with the physical world around us. 

AAS:  What was your first or most interesting job? 

JH:  First job I had was picking pumpkins on cold fall mornings on a farm in Ontario, Canada at the age of 13, for $3.00/Hour.  Most interesting would be my current employment as a surveyor, often having knowledge of building projects long before the public does, and being able to work outside and do something different almost everyday. 

AAS:  Tell us about your favorite vacation. 

JH:  My parents used to take me camping in Perry Sound Ontario, at a  Provincial Park on Georgian Bay called Killbear.  I remember it as having the darkest skies I’ve seen yet.  One summer in the early 1990’s, the Aurora Borealis was so bright and constant that you could read a book unaided at midnight.

AAS:   Have you ever lived in some other part of the U.S. or another country?  Where?  When? 

JH:  Ontario, Canada until I was 21, at which time I moved to the Alabama after marrying one of  “y’alls” southern gals.